Ashford & Grace Fine Jewelry

What is cut?

The cut is what gives a diamond its sparkle.  Every diamond is precisely cut and defined to give the brilliance that we have all come to know.  Although it is difficult to scale, the cut of any diamond has three attributes: brilliance (the total light reflected from a diamond), fire (the dispersion of light into the colors of the spectrum), and scintillation (the flashes of light, or sparkle, when a diamond is moved). Furthermore, an understanding of diamond cut begins with the shape of a diamond. The standard round brilliant is the shape used in most diamond jewelry. All others are known as fancy shapes. Traditional fancy shapes include the marquise, pear, oval and emerald cuts. Hearts, cushions, triangles and a variety of others are also gaining popularity in diamond jewelry. In 2005, GIA unveiled a diamond cut scale, which is used to scale the cut of a diamond. Source:

Typical Diamond Cuts:


No Very

Captcha Image